The Mill on the Fleet was built in 1788 as a cotton spinning mill and restored as a visitor and exhibition centre by Dumfries and Galloway Council in the 1980s.
It is also houses the Gatehouse Tourist Information Centre, run in partnership with Visit Scotland
The Main Exhibition Floor
The main exhibition floor houses displays focusing on the history and heritage of Gatehouse, and exploring the Fleet Valley and surrounding areas. The Fleet Valley is a designated National Scenic Area - one of three in this part of Scotland. The displays introduce the valley and provide orientation and resources to help visitors explore the area.
The temporary exhibition galleries, the Faed Gallery and the Bookshop Gallery, have a full programme of exhibitions running throughout the season.
The Mill Café provides delicious snacks, sandwiches, light meals and drinks all day. Enjoy the river and its varied wildlife from the open air terrace, or sit indoors and watch the wildlife on the river filmed through our visitor operated wildlife camera.
Garvallan Books on the second floor stocks a wide range of new and secondhand books for adults and children. Visit their website here.
Gatehouse of Fleet is well signposted off the A75 Dumfries to Stranraer road. The Mill is situated in the centre of the town and is signposted from the main car park. There is disabled parking within the grounds of the Mill.
Open every day: 29 March - 31 October 10.00-5.00
The Mill on the Fleet,
High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2HS
Tel: 01557 814099